Skip to content

Just Remember: No Slice Backhands!

December 16, 2011

So, when I started this blog, I mentioned how there was going to be some postings related to the amateur game. Here’s the first one, and it’s going to be about none other than yours truly!

You see, this weekend, I’m playing my first bit of doubles in more than a year as part of a social thing. I won’t be playing with any set partner, but rather rotating around over a couple of hours. It should be fun–I hope!

I like to think that I know most of the basics: serve and volley, think crosscourt, watch out for poaching. But seeing as how I’m hoping not to make a fool of myself as I haven’t played any tennis for three weeks now, there are some things I’m going to have to pay extra attention on:

* First (as the headline suggests): Don’t hit any slice backhands! Those are just dying to be picked off by an aggressive volleyer.

* Don’t let returns drop when coming in: The second I’m volleying from thigh level for my first volley, I’m in trouble.

* If a forehand volley is in reach, take it: Unless I’m playing with a left-hander. Don’t still their thunder (at least I hope they’re bringing the thunder)!

* Communicate!: Sure, I’ll be playing with a stranger, but talking about where I’m going with my serve or figuring out their comfort level is key.

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes!

Leave a Reply

