Skip to content

What I Learned in a Rare Doubles Appearance

December 21, 2011

So THAT happened the other night.

I made an appearance on the doubles court for the first time in more than a year and was down 5-1 before I knew it. Returns were overhit, overheads were whiffed, volleys were duffed: I ran the gamut of things to do wrong out there.

But then…

I served a great game, holding at love with two aces thrown in for good measure. My partner and I broke serve the next game and just like that we were back in the set.

Then we promptly got broken right back. Oh well, it was fun while it lasted! (Actually, it was great fun!) There were some things that I definitely need to be aware of:

• Don’t try to jack every return.

• If I’m going to call “mine!” for a ball, I need to do it above a whisper!

• Slice backhands do work, particularly if you’re playing a point that calls for a lot of finesse.

• Play more doubles!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

